Forest Lord reading order

forest lord complete

This is how I suggest you read the series, but the year they’re set in is listed if you’d rather read chronologically:


Wolf’s Head -1321

Knight Of The Cross-pb-eb-des2

Knight of the Cross -1309  

This one can really be read any time but I think it’s best to meet the characters of Sir Richard and Stephen in Wolf’s Head before moving onto this spin-off novella.


The Wolf and the Raven  – 1322

Kindle Covers_The Escape.indd

“The Escape” – 1323

Short story starring Little John


Rise of the Wolf – 1323


Friar Tuck and the Christmas Devil – 1323


“The Prisoner” – 1325

Novelette starring Robin and Little John


“The Rescue” – 1325

Short story starring Matilda and Marjorie.

Get it HERE for FREE in ebook!


Blood of the Wolf – 1326

The final full length novel in the series.


The Abbey of Death – 1328

Will Scarlet novella, in which he becomes a man of God?!

Faces Of Darkness_final

Faces of Darkness – 1328

Friar Tuck and Little John star in this new novella. Can they solve a medieval mystery?


Sworn to God – 1329

Tuck, Little John and Will Scarlet have another mystery to solve.

The House in the Marsh – 1330

Tuck, John and Will team up again for a winter mystery novella.

the-pedlars-promise_pbThe Pedlar’s Promise – 1330’s 

Friar Tuck sends a Christmas gift to John and Will, but when it gets lost they decide to try and find the pedlar who’s promised to bring it to them…Perhaps not the best plan in the middle of winter!

Featured Image -- 6481

There is also now an omnibus edition of all four Forest Lord NOVELS available on Kindle. It’s cheaper than buying the books (Wolf’s Head, The Wolf and the Raven, Rise of the Wolf and Blood of the Wolf) separately and FREE with Kindle Unlimited.

The first three Warrior Druid of Britain novels have similarly been collected into a Kindle omnibus – a nice bargain, especially with Kindle Unlimited.


Warrior Druid of Britain Chronicles I-III.

forest lord complete

12 thoughts on “Forest Lord reading order

Add yours

  1. Really enjoyed “Wolfshead”. Have read a lot of books of this genre by authors like Bernard Cornwell, Angus Donald and Jan Guillou, but found your work really refreshing! Can’t wait for this next episode. Like the way you portray Gisbourne as a real bastard!
    Hope it goes well.


  2. Just finished The Wolf and the Raven – loved it and now seeking the followups . My Gran lived near Sherwood Forest and played in the Major Oak as a child . We are a family who love the story of Robin Hood . Love in New Zealand and will one day visit what is left of Sherwood

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Stormwatch, why does the Forest Lord edition(Kindle) on Amazon having less pages than the four books sold separately?
    The Forest Lord collection has 673 pages and the books separately have 1359 pages?


    1. Hi! I think Amazon goes on the paperback page count if one is available to them. So, each paperback book is, for example, 300 pages or so, but the Forest Lord Collection is much less pages in paperback because it uses a smaller font.
      Rest assured everything that’s in the separate Kindle books is in the Forest Lord Collection.
      It’s a bit annoying, and confusing for me, as I’ve written books that show LESS pages than others which I know have a smaller word count. But there’s nothing I can do about it unfortunately. My Druid books are all at least as long as the Robin Hood ones (100,000 words or so) but they show as having a lot less pages than something like Wolf’s Head. Annoying.


  4. Just wanted to say how much I have enjoyed reading this series so far. It has made a refreshing change from all the other historical fiction I read, mainly because out of all the books I have read not one has been about Robin Hood. This makes the series a real stand-out for me. The stories are engaging, the characters are captivating and your style of writing makes these thoroughly enjoyable to read. I have read Wolf’s Head and The Wolf and the Raven. Now I am on Knight of the Cross, soon to be followed by The Escape, and I will follow this reading order until completion. Thanks for such absorbing stories and I look forward to the rest of series before moving on to your other work.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: